Cart 0

FOTOCRIME Principle Of Pain LP

  • 1500

FOTOCRIME Principle Of Pain LP on Auxiliary Records, includes download code. Available on black vinyl, transparent red vinyl limited to 150 copies, transparent green vinyl limited to 150 copies, ice blue vinyl limited to 100 copies.

Following 2017's acclaimed EPs Always Hell and Always Night, the dark post-punk trio FOTOCRIME have announced details for their debut full-length album, Principle Of Pain. FOTOCRIME is the creation of singer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist R (aka Ryan Patterson, longtime tentpole of the Louisville music scene). Set for a May 18 release on Patterson's own Auxiliary Records, Principle Of Pain boldly returns drum machines and analog synthesizer sequencing to the forefront of the guitar-rock landscape, resulting in an album that confidently displays a mastery of song craft and stylistic range while crafting an distinct sonic identity.

Written and demoed in his home studio over the course of a year, R shared his work with no one before traveling to Baltimore to record the album with producer J. Robbins, a friend and collaborator of nearly two decades. The album was performed entirely by R, with a small handful of contributions from friends, including future FOTOCRIME band members Shelley Anderson and Nick Thieneman. Principle Of Pain is a deeply personal album, the singular work of an artist traversing the peaks and valleys of his obsessions, loves, and fears soundtracked by massive beats, warm synths, and guitars that veer from chiming cleans to blown out fuzz. The stunning original album cover artwork was painted by Chicago-via-Barcelona artist Noelia Towers, known for her beautiful, challenging artwork depicting elements of BDSM and feminine power. An in-demand painter and apparel designer, this is her first commissioned album artwork. 

Following their April 2017 live debut, FOTOCRIME spent seven months extensively touring North America and Europe on their own successful self-booked tours, released the aforementioned EPs to fan and critical accolades, and established themselves as one of the most sonically and visually exciting new bands to emerge in the post-punk/alternative landscape, leading Revolver to proclaim "FOTOCRIME is darkwave heaven." Found drenched in fog with sunglasses on and collar upturned toward the world, FOTOCRIME commands both pleasure and pain with unshakeable cool determination.
Side A:
Nadia (Last Year's Men)
Love In A Dark Time
Don't Pity The Young
The Rose And The Thorn

Side B:
Gods In The Dark
Enduring Chill
Infinite Hunger For Love
Confusing World
The Soft Skin


We Also Recommend